ColetteB….

not exactly work in progress…

Saturday’s special…with Lunar Tides

6 Comments

kurtquote200216~

Today would have been Kurt Cobain’s 49th birthday. It’s a time to rejoice in his ever having lived at all and for the gift he was to the world. He also apparently said:

“If you die you’re completely happy and your soul somewhere lives on.”

I found the quotes used for this post during today’s research at brainyquote.com, (toward my guestpost here, but not using this quote) then happened across the images used for his post, including to make the picture-quote, during research at pixabay.com (toward my Leap into…pix day 5 post, again, not using these particular images).

rainbow-67902_1920

I almost applied the ‘light’ quote to this image instead, but thought the moon version more appropriate – what do you think?

Anyway, back to the point of ever making this post… another of the quotes (from Brainyquote.com), attributed to Kurt Cobain is: “If there was a Rock Star 101, I would have liked to take it. It might have helped me.”

WordPress / DailyPost / BloggingU team, will you ever be offering a RockStar101? I don’t expect so – and I’m still waiting for further news of Websites101 and Blogging301 (CSS)…

Wouldn’t it have been great if there’d been things like online streaming in the early days of Nirvana? Maybe there was, in smaller circles, and I’ve just been a dinosaur for too long…

Anyway, I’m very grateful for Blogging101 and other 101classes for meeting fantastic peope around the world, like Lydia – many of you might have bumped into her in class and know her as aidyl93.

Lydia’s having a blogging hiatus at the moment, but there’s lots to browse at her blog in the meantime. Last Saturday was #InternetFriendsDay, and I caught up with Lydia at Twitter, just in time for the live streaming announcement for the band she plays with, Lunar Tides.

Sadly, it was the last live gig the band were broadcasting at TwitchTV for a while – but the good news is that they’re busy recording their first CD – I hope I’m near the front of the queue to get mine and that overseas shipping will be do-able.

In the meantime, I’ll be keeping up-to-date with news from Lunar Tides, looking out for vlog announcements and crossing my fingers for that CD heading my way one fine summer’s day 🙂

I’m a glutton for souvenirs, and as I enjoyed being part of the livestream audience, I snapped a couple of screenshots of the gig. Many thanks to Lunar Tides for making music and making their live gigs accessible – and thanks again for permission to use these screenshots in my post.

luntides140216f

luntides140216g

That’s Lucas at the back on drums and vocals (says he’s really a guitarist, but makes a fine vocalist, drummer and front-man from the back of the set), Lydia playing bass guitar and at front-right Randy on guitar and vocals. Lunar Tides write and perform their own music and the couple of times I’ve managed to catch their live stream show I really enjoyed it. It just happened to be their evening time but my early hours of the morning, or I might have turned up every week.

Thanks again Lunar Tides, I may be missing your live-stream, but yet again you just helped make my Saturday special 🙂

[I have to return and update links later!]

Author: Colette B

Amateur creative (artist, writer) ...

6 thoughts on “Saturday’s special…with Lunar Tides

  1. I remember back in the day, Michael Stipe said he was glad it took R.E.M. ten years before they became a huge, mega-famous band. If they’d had the same kind of overnight success as Nirvana, Stipe didn’t think he would have handled it any better than Kurt did.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow never realized i was only 2 mos older than kurt, hmmm. I like the quote right where you have it, the liveshots are great to. I hope to get back to music, i get so mesmerized (i guess) reading that I forget to try music now that i have easier time with my ear. I enjoyed your post. I wasnt planning on reading blogs but i Found you in my twitter feed 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The moon version is perfect. It’s such a shame when young, talented artists commit suicide.

    Liked by 1 person

Need a prompt? Comment if you will...Thx

