ColetteB….

not exactly work in progress…

Immortal (Limerick)

4 Comments

The prompt for this week’s Limerick Poetry Challenge at Mind and Life Matters is ‘Immortal’. This word or an appropriate synonym must appear in the poem. That gave me a slight problem in realising the need to completely rework my second line. My use of the prompt word ‘immortal’ might not quite have fit the bill as it was – not that I’m after the grand prize myself 🙂 So, I managed to include a synonym just in case my ‘immortal’ was lacking and I ended up with an improved version compared to my original draft. 🙂 Yay!

I found this fitting image (below) on pixabay.com –  my limerick is below the pic 🙂 Enjoy!

old-age-957492_1280

There once wished a happy old couple
endless life but that wish burst their bubble –
He forgot his wife’s T,
left with immoral, she
yelled “to hell with ya and on the double!”

(©Colette Bates 2016)

Now that I managed to write one for the challenge prompt myself, I can get around having a read of everyone else’s entries so far… and look forward to the next challenge prompt out on 14th (tomorrow!)

Author: Colette B

Amateur creative (artist, writer) ...

4 thoughts on “Immortal (Limerick)

  1. Uh oh not so immortal now for the couple huh!
    Good one Colette! 🙂 Thank you for participating.

    Like

  2. That is quite clever! I do think you have a limerick talent going there.

    Liked by 1 person

Need a prompt? Comment if you will...Thx

